top of page

Book Three: Part 2: Chapter Seven: Arinna Part One

Last time, Ren, and the others visited me. Tomoe was so happy to see me. Aoi looked as if he was reminiscing about something.

After everyone left, I could tell he was deep in thought.

What did you find out? I asked. Your mom is a riveting woman indeed. Aoi replied. What did my mom do? I asked. She just gave me a mission that is going to cure the anxious feeling. Aoi replied. What is that? I asked. I can't tell you, Kaoru. Aoi replied. That's no fair. I replied. Then tell me what got my mother so intrigued to recruit you, Aoi? I replied. Your mom has come up to me on multiple occasions. After I cut my ties to Deirdre, I was employed at the Ishtar Royal Inn. Aoi replied. Why would you work there? I asked. During the day, a bustling inn. At night, the employees do their mercenary work. It's an Inn/Mercenary Guild. Aoi asked. I can't really imagine you working at an inn. I replied. For your information, I was a damn good greeter, and the Inn received plenty of regulars. Aoi replied. He's in better spirits. I'm glad. I thought.

What is that job we are supposed to be going on if I mind asking? I asked. Megumi asked us to aid the Inn under the Saintess of Ice request. Aoi replied. Why? I asked. What does Iclyn want? She never wants me helping at all. Aoi thought. He sighs.

My phone rings. I pick up.

Hey mom. I replied. Are you two thinking about the job? Megumi asked. Mom, who is this Saintess of Ice? I asked. You've met her before, Kaoru. You will actually be shocked at why a Saint is working at an inn in Ishtar, of all things. Megumi replied. I filled her in a little on the Inn. Aoi replied. You were one of their best. You know, she was very skeptical about letting you leave. Megumi replied.

He sighs again.

Why are you sighing this time? I asked. Is "she" is going to help in any way? We're declining this mission. Aoi replied. Are you implying the herbalist? Megumi asked. You serious a herbalist? I asked. She is that but a twist. Aoi replied. This job seems like it will bring fun. I replied. Yeah, not really for me. Aoi replied. I'm a little hungry. I replied. Oh that's right, I'll warm up dinner I made. Aoi replied. You made me dinner? I asked. That's one of your mom's request. Aoi replied. As he warmed up the food, I smelled the delicious aroma in the air. It smells like garlic but not overpowering it. I thought. When he came back with a big bowl of creamy garlic chicken and rice. I smiled. Oh my gosh this looks good. I replied. Eat. Aoi replied. As I ate this, I thought about what the girls meant. I'm a lucky girl. I thought.

Megumi called Aoi.

She's in love with the dish? Megumi asked. Yeah. Aoi replied. Think about it, she hasn't eaten in two in a half months. Megumi replied. Hey Aoi can I have more? I asked. Yeah I'm about to eat myself. I'm hungry myself. Aoi replied. He took my bowl. I've never had a guy doing something genuinely nice to me. I thought.

He came back with two bowls.

Here's your bowl. Be careful, it's hot. Aoi replied. I was so deep in thought, I burned my tongue. I just said it's hot. Aoi replied. This is good, Aoi. How did you learn to cook? I asked. My mom and the cooks. Aoi replied. No men other than my dad and uncles have cooked for me. I replied. Are you for real? Aoi asked. I'm serious. I replied. Why is that? Aoi asked. Few men can cook. I replied. You are right, Kaoru. Aoi replied. He eats his bowl of food. It just feels weird to me. The last man I let come this close to me was Xavi. He's not him, Kaoru. He maybe charming, but he has never attempted to hurt him. After I finished. He grabbed my bowl and fork. I got it, Kaoru. Aoi replied. But. I replied. It's my job to help. Aoi replied. He finished his food and walked to the sink, and started doing the dishes. He's nice just like when we were younger. Aoi is concerned, but at other times crass. I'm glad to see him in better spirits. I thought. After he finished, I drifted to sleep on the couch. Hey Kaoru. Aoi replied. She is asleep. Aoi replied. He picked me up in princess carry. The next morning, I wake up to the smell of eggs, sausage and spices. I walked downstairs to my surprise. It's Breakfast Casserole. I thought. Good morning, Kaoru. Aoi replied. I'm sorry you had to carry me to my bed. I replied. It's ok, you're lighter than I thought. Aoi replied. I clinched my fist. He's back to his sarcastic remarks. I thought. Sit down and eat. Aoi replied. Don't demand me. I replied. As we sat at the table, we ate the Breakfast casserole. I thought about the new job. After I finished eating, I put my fork, knife, and plate in the sink. Thank you for breakfast, Aoi. I replied. As I went upstairs, he watched me walk up the stairs. He shook his head and went back to eating. He took his coffee he bought for the both of us.

Katsu, Himeros, Tomoe texted him.

Katsu: Aoi how are you keeping yourself together?

Aoi: It's very hard for me.

Tomoe: I figured that much.

Himeros: Are you ok? Shura wanted you to get over a fear right?

Aoi: Yes, my magic spikes when I am closer to her.

Katsu: Spike?

Aoi: We have to talk in person to understand.

Tomoe: Drinking later? 🍻

Aoi: Yeah but I cannot stay out too long.

Katsu: We're all responsible adults.

Aoi: Katsu. You got drunk last time.

Katsu: Leave that in the past. I've been going on dates with Ally. My alcohol tolerance is higher.

Aoi: We will see.

Tomoe: Lol.

A caramel macchiato is what I smell. I replied. I bought you a Caramel Macchiato and White Chocolate Mocha for myself. Aoi replied.

Ally is up at this hour on her day off? I asked.

Me: Hey Ally.

Ally: Girl,we need to have a drink.

Me: Why?

Ally: Pops has some tea that you will like.

Me: Say more.

Ally: Rumiko and the others are coming too. I invited them.

Me: Bring them over.

Ally: Rumiko might take a minute. She is coming from a dungeon in Garuda.

Me: That's our hard-working girl, Rumiko Vestia.

Ally: she balances out our friendship.

Me: Other than that "one".

Ally: yeah she stepped her boundaries.

Me: Let's leave her as a horrible memory.

Ally: Agreed.

Aoi, I know you are wondering who that girl is. I asked. I am curious. Aoi replied. She was a girl who betrayed our trust. To be honest, she betrayed Ally. We were roommates. Ally and I were roommates in college. We introduced her to our friends. She had another agenda. I replied. Let's leave it like that for now. She will appear again. It's just a feeling. I replied. Probably, I met my father once again. Aoi replied. Do you regret? I asked. Not really, Clarimond is another story. She tried to get rid of my mother, sisters and I. Aoi replied. Wait, she did what? I asked. To be exact, her family wanted to get rid of us. Aoi replied. You say it like it's ok. I replied. I never said it was ok. My mom told me a few days after my sister's and I were adopted. My dad wasn't fully aware of their shady tactics until he saw my mom, who had fallen into a depressed state. He never seen her in a such a state. Clarimond came into the house. She called her out about how she and her family tried to kill us. Little does she know, weak poison can't kill us. Aoi replied. So that's why Saffron slanders your stepmom. I asked. She and her family deserve everything that happens to them. Aoi replied. Does your step brother ask for favors? I asked. No, not really. Aoi replied. Does he know you're here? I asked. Yup. Knowing that guy, he will come over with flowers. Aoi replied. That's sweet. I replied. Probably flowers giving mixed signals. Aoi replied. Stop it, Aoi. As he said that, Jules appeared with Armani. Hi Armani. I replied. Aoi. Kaoru. Armani yelled. He hugged us. You know he isn't really friendly. As soon as I mentioned Kaoru he wanted to come. Jules replied. You're wrong, have you or anyone ever listened to him? Aoi asked. No now that I think about it. Jules replied. I have two nephews and a niece on the way. Aoi replied. Wait, which one? I asked. Peyton is having her first girl. Aoi replied. Congrats. I replied. Armani sits on the couch between us. Now that I think about it, isn't Armani and Tomoe the same age? Aoi asked. Yeah, why don't play together? I asked. That is a good idea. He can have a friend. To be more exact, his nephew. Aoi replied. I called Saffron. Hey Saffron, what are you doing this weekend? I asked. Nothing, Tomoe will be with me this weekend. Why? Saffron asked.

Me: I have an idea.

Saffron: A field trip this weekend?

Me: Aoi, do you know of any places?

Aoi: Let's go to Gula. The Sunset Festival is around the corner.

Me: Already?

Aoi: Gula is a continent. The place is Arinna is where we are going. The ancient capital of Gula.

Me: A tropical place, a delightful vacation spot.

Aoi: How about that?

Saffron: Well, I need a mini vacation, anyway. Also, Tomoe can have fun with Armani since they are around the same age.

Saffron: Tomoe, Aunt Kaoru, is on the phone.

Tomoe: Aunt Kaoru!

Me: Hey Tomoe, you wanna go on an adventure?

Tomoe: Aunt Kaoru, is Aoi coming?

Me: Aoi?

Saffron: He loves Haru almost as much as you Kaoru.

Aoi: I'm coming and Armani is coming.

Saffron: Armani is going to Arinna.

Aoi: We are going to the beach and even the boardwalk.

Armani: I'm going to the beach!

Saffron: Thanks. We both need this.

Me: Anytime Saffron.

Saffron hangs up.

Jules calls their dad.

Jules: Dad, is it ok if Armani goes away with Aoi and Kaoru this weekend?

Tatsui: Sure, it's been a while since he has seen them. He has talked about spending time with them.

Aoi: I'll pick him up on Thursday night.

Tatsui: Where are you heading?

Aoi: Arinna. An old friend invited me to the festival. He told me to bring up to five people.

Tatsui: Bring me back a jar of Arinna Mango Jam.

Aoi: Small, Medium or Large?

Tatsui: Wait, there are three sizes?

Aoi: Yeah, my mom would buy the medium jar.

Tatsui: Then buy that one.

Aoi: Alright.

Jules: What bottles do they have?

Tatsui: Not in front of Armani.

Jules: Alright. Bye dad.

Armani: Bye daddy.

Tatsui: Bye.

Tatsui hung up.

Weren't you going to say bye? Jules asked. He knows I'm like my mom with honesty and loyalty. I respect him, but I can't trust him. Aoi replied. Why can't you just let it go? Jules asked. Ask dad on your time. I'm not discussing this in front of Armani. I won't slander your mom. It's out of respect. Aoi replied. I'll ask dad later on. When I drop him off. Jules replied. I'll just tell you this. He's not proud of his actions. Aoi replied.

Fifteen minutes later, Armani and Jules leave. Armani hugs us and waves bye.

At Tatsui's house, Jules asked Tatsui the question.

Hey dad, why does Aoi hate you and mom? Jules, I was married to his mother. Your mom was my mistress. She didn't care, so I didn't care. Not thinking, Haru watched everything I would do. When I wanted to start over, they put him and his sisters in foster care. I found out it was your aunt and her associates who handled that. I also found out your mother's family plans to get rid of his mom, him, and his sisters. Tatsui replied. Wait, my mom was your mistress? I can't believe that. Jules replied. Yes. As a father, I failed them. I didn't find them until they were adults. I met my oldest, Belle, when she was twenty-one. Keon when she was twenty. Haru at twenty-two. He's angry at me for the way I dogged his mother out. Deep down, the girls feel the same. Tatsui replied. Are you and their mom on good terms? Jules asked. We are on good terms. I would say. She keeps her distance because she has a strong hatred for your mom. Tatsui replied. Their mom is a female Aoi. It's weird thinking about it. So she's a sarcastic wiseass. Jules replied. Yup, he's like his mother. He only took my looks. Tatsui replied. A knock on the door. Hi, Tatsui. Hi Armani. Hedone replied. Miss Hedone! Armani yelled. He hugged her. What are you doing here? Tatsui asked. Oh to give you Armani's paper boarding pass. I sent the digital copy to Haru. Hedone replied. That's so you. Tatsui replied. Are you ready, Armani? Hedone asked. We're going to the beach. Armani replied. Not just the beach a rainforest. A lot of fruit and candy. Don't worry, it is healthy. Everything from the food to candy is all natural. Oh, here is the catalog of bottles in five regions, Jules. Hedone replied. Jules is applauded at the variety. Tell me or Haru and we can get it for you. Just pay the difference. I can tell you now. Buy four medium bottles. It will last you a few months. Hedone replied. I am heading to Arinna myself. I told Haru I will bring Armani with me. We'll meet up at the train station. Hedone replied. He's going to talk about this week. He will meet new people. My childhood friend, Leilani, has grandchildren. Tomoe is going too. He will have company. Majority of her grandchildren are boys. Hedone replied. You don't mean the drunk party girl? Tatsui asked. Yeah, she doesn't drink as much. Hedone replied. Please take care of Armani. Tatsui replied. Don't worry, I would never put a child in danger, Tatsui. Hedone replied.

Stay Tuned.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Announcement

For all my Life of Kaoru readers, I have created a Patreon. You just won't be able to read the web novel chapters but to read the webtoon too.

Announcement

Welcome new readers. Here you can read my selection of titles. Natasha: What Is True Love? Book 1-Every Thursday @11 AM Haru/ My Rare Treasure Book Three- Every Friday @ 9 AM Life of Kaoru Book Three-

Announcement

Life of Kaoru is a webtoon now. You can read on Global Comix, Tapas and Webtoon.

bottom of page